cbd4-019-08.jpg (65130 bytes) Sydney Architecture Images- Central Business District

Dymocks Building (The Block)

architect

 

location

George Street

date

1926-32

style

Inter-War Commercial Palazzo

construction

steel frame

type

Shop

notes

The Block was built by the Dymock’s firm in 1926-32 following the demolition of the Royal Hotel and shopping arcade. The enclosed shopping promenade above Dymocks retains terrazzo floors, silky oak shopfronts, and leadlights in the shop windows. It is a hidden gem of Sydney retailing.(it has been recently modernised and lost some of its charm).
 
   
 
   

 

www.sydneyarchitecture.com 

links

 
 

 

Site- 242 George Street, 1828- Royal Hotel. 
Currently The
      Block (Dymocks Building)
Same view 10 years later- looking south down George Street from King Street.
  To the left, 240 George Street, current redevelopment site of Mid-City Centre. Note Dymock's at bottom right of Royal Hotel.
 
In 1926 the Forsyth family (descendents of WDymock) bought the site and put in plans for a tower. The old bldg was finally demolished to make way for the Block in 1932.