Sydney Architecture Images-Sydney Architects

Conybeare Morrison

Images copyright of architect.
Conybeare Morrison

Darrel Conybeare

Darrel graduated in architecture with first Class Honours and the University Medal at the University of Sydney in 1962. He went on to gain a Masters degree in Architecture and City Planning in the Civic Design Program at the University of Pennsylvania. After his postgraduate studies, he joined the offices of Charles & Ray Eames in California, an experience that was instrumental in developing his ideas about and passion for design.

In 1970, he returned to Sydney, joined Urban Systems Corporation and directed the environmental design team for the first City of Sydney Strategic Plan. Following this he jointly founded Planning Workshop and successfully developed its masterplanning, urban design and architectural practice. During this period, in 1975, he was appointed to direct the planning studies program for the Geelong Growth Centre.

In 1980 together with William Morrison, he established the office of Conybeare Morrison which practices as a multidisciplinary design consultancy, carrying out masterplanning and design with award winning projects in the fields of architecture, urban design and strategic planning. In 1996 he was appointed to the masterplan team for the Sydney Olympic Games site at Homebush. He was project manager for the masterplanning of the new Sydney Showground at Homebush, and in a joint venture with other architects, he prepared the design and documentation of the Arena and central zone buildings of the Showground. Major award winning projects include the design and documentation of the Bicentennial Macquarie Street/Queens Square project, Circular Quay (West) and streetscape improvements in The Rocks precinct. He has also been responsible for the numerous road and infrastructure projects in the practice including the $1.5billion Westlink M7 project, the Liverpool to Parramatta Transitway and the Northwest Transitway.

In 1990 he jointly founded Context Landscape Design with Oi Choong, a practice which has become innovative and highly successful. In 1988 together with partner, Bill Morrison he founded Street Furniture Australia, a specialised civic furnishing design and production house.

Darrel continues to be directly involved with every project in the practice.

William Morrison

Bill graduated from the University of Sydney with a Bachelor of Architecture in 1965. Following a period in Sydney, Melbourne and Canberra with the Commonwealth Department of Works and the National Capital Development Commission, he worked for five years in London with Sir William Holford and Partners and the Farrell Grimshaw Partnership.

Returning to Sydney in 1974, he joined Planning Workshop Pty Ltd and in 1980, together with Darrel Conybeare, established the architectural and urban design practice of Conybeare Morrison. During this time, Bill successfully carried out award winning projects across the fields of architecture, urban design and masterplanning, including infrastructure design, town centre studies, waterfront renewals, university masterplans, commercial interiors and property redevelopments. He provides project direction throughout masterplanning, design and documentation and coordinates the activities of senior designers within the practice. Responsibilities include design management, client coordination and community liaison. His special expertise in university masterplanning has led him to expand the practice into Malaysia and China where he has directed a number of large university and residential projects. Bill is currently responsible for the development of a new water-based city south of Shanghai.

In 1988, together with Darrel Conybeare, he founded Street Furniture Australia, a specialised civic furnishings design and production house. In 1990 he co-founded Context Landscape Design, with Oi Choong and Darrel Conybeare, a practice which has become innovative and highly successful both nationally and internationally.

Bill is an invited member of the SEPP65 Design Review Panel for Hurstville, Kogarah and Rockdale Councils.